Lorena López de Lacalle is re-elected as EFA President

The Basque politician from Eusko Alkartasuna will continue to lead the party with Jordi Solé (Esquerra Republicana) as Secretary-General and Anke Spoorendonk (SSW) as treasurer

The General Assembly elected a Bureau composed of 15 member party representatives, two more than the previous one, due to the incorporation of new parties into the organisation

The General Assembly of the European Free Alliance has re-elected the Basque politician Lorena López de Lacalle as President of the party. Ms López de Lacalle (Eusko Alkartasuna) will lead the European political party over the next three years with Jordi Solé (Esquerra Republicana) and Anke Spoorendonk (SSW), who will also continue as Secretary-General and Treasurer, respectively, until 2025.

The new Bureau is composed of 15 member geographically varied and gender balanced party representatives, two more than the previous one, reflect that the party is growing and incorporating new members. Last week during its annual meeting in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, EFA welcomed Andalucía por Sí as a full member, and Union Valdôtaine and Més per Menorca as candidate members. The full membership of the latter two, and of existing candidate member Siciliani Liberi, will be put to a vote in the next General Assembly.

Enlarged Bureau

The new Bureau will also count on the participation of five Vice-Presidents who continue from the previous team: Peggy Eriksson (Ålands Framtid), Jill Evans (Plaid Cymru), Fernando Fuente Cortina (Més Compromís), David Grosclaude (Partit Occitan), and Wouter Patho (Nieuw-Vlaamse Alliantie). Finally, the team is completed with the incorporation of Ana Miranda (Bloque Nacionalista Galego), Zsolt Szilágyi (Erdelyi Magyar Neppart), Livia Volpei (Femu à Corsica), Frank de Boer (Fryske Nasjonale Partij), Lorena del Mar López Sánchez (Nueva Canarias), Patrik Peroša (Oljka Party), and Roberto Visentin (Patto per l’Autonomia). “This amazing team will work hand in hand towards our mission to build a Europe of All Peoples”, declared the EFA President, Lorena López de Lacalle.